Skip to content

2007 B.R. Cohn Silver Label Cabernet Sauvignon

March 11, 2010

I don’t drink very much California Cab, or for that matter very much Cabernet Sauvignon (love the Cabernet family but I usually find better values in Francs rather than Sauvignons),  and I don’t usually get very excited about them. Even when I have a great  experience with one (2001 Plumpjack with a magnificently charred T-bone and 1955 Lafite flying solo occupying opposite ends of a spectrum of truly memorable Cabernet Sauvignon) I’m usually prohibited from repeating the experience by the price-tags that would necessarily be involved. The B.R. Cohn was a nice surprise. Its tannins and acidity are softer than the average $20 Bordeaux I might prefer but that doesn’t mean it lacks for texture or varietal character. Dark berries, green spices and a smear of oak shout proudly “I am California Cab!” and I tended to like the sound of it. Grilled something or other would be what I’d go for.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

