Skip to content

High and Mighty Beer of the Gods

March 3, 2010

Unfiltered and unpasteurized from a 22oz bottle. Definitely some stuff (lees?) floating around in this beer, loved that, made me think about ancient Mesopotamia and the preponderance of unfiltered and unpasteurized beer consumed there as an important staple; poor guys didn’t have any hops in their brew though. Yellow cherries, pears and nuances of lime and black dirt. One earthiest pale beers I’ve ever had.

On tap at Sunset Grill & Tap in Allston. Virtually no head and no floating stuff, very hazy though and almost a little green to the yellow gold color (maybe it was the lighting). It’s more like quince and nondescript citrus this time and not quite as earthy this time. I think the floaty stuff helps.

This has got to be one of the more compelling beers I’ve had in awhile. I see it as being pretty versatile on the table because it has lots of fruit and just the right amount of hoppy bitterness.  It is also only 4.5% alcohol (applause) so it could also probably go well with some pretty spicy stuff. I’d try a flavorful fish (bluefish, swordfish) or something with guacamole. Something in which white/yellow bell peppers, cape gooseberries or bean sprouts figured prominently also strikes me as an appropriate foil. When I had this beer on tap my friend was eating fish tacos with guacamole right next to me and for some reason it only now clicked that this would very likely be a great combo.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

